Universal search = federated search some investigation needed…

I really cringed when I read Philip Hider’s comment that one of the problems with library catalogues is that “they represent only a small proportion of information resources provided by the library.” (2013,  p.45). That accurately describes our library catalogue. We have EBSCOhost and eBrary, Tumblebooks and our own ebooks, as well as Follett’s own webpath express. All are searched separately – all little silos containing only a glimpse of all that we offer.

I love the idea of federated searches within our catalogue system.A one stop and see everything on offer makes a lot of sense to me. Our students and staff are very busy people. The number of extra doors that they have to open to get to collections is a real problem to them. No wonder they turn to Google so quickly.

I really like using the CSU library PRIMO as it gives results for all their resources. I can also filter my searches to ebooks and electronic journals only.

I have not used TROVE before but really liked how clean the website looked and that the results were all boxed into their own categories: Books, Newspapers, Journals and so on. It was easy to use and very easy to understand.

Follett Corporation creates our library catalogue – “Destiny”. We are remote hosted and I remembered that before we broke for the summer vacation they were doing yet another up grade. They were working on their federated search system called “Universal Search”. I have not used it much in the past because it was very clunky – took ages to load and the interface was not very attractive or easy to navigate.

Inspired by my TROVE experience I tried out our own Destiny catalogue Universal search. It is much improved. This is definitely a feature I want to further explore, promote and work with Follett reps to improve. I have found one of my professional goals for the coming academic year.

 

Hider, P. (2013). Information resource description: Creating and managing
metadata (U.S. ed.). Chicago, Ill.: ALA editions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *